Your Daily Adjustment

Adjusting your day….you bad, bad boy.

Top 10 Best Cover Songs

Ive been trying to come up with some other top 10 lists.  Besides this one, I have another one in mind but its taking alot longer then I thought to compile the list beacause it requires me to do alot of song listenening and divide up into a couple of diffrent groups.  Trust me, I hope it will be worth the wait.

So till that list is compiled, here is one to hold you over.  In honor of the Rev It Up & Rock Rusty had over Labor Day, here is my top 10 best cover songs.

CLICK THE LINKS TO LISTEN TO THE SONGS FOR YOUR SELF!

#10 Gary Hoey-Frankenstein
Cover of the Egar Winter Group

I can not find a link for you to listen to this song on the net but trust me, its amazing.  Almost better then the original.  So instead, click the link to check out what he did to one of my favorite Christmas songs.

#9 Atreyu-You Give Love A Bad Name
Cover of Bon Jovi

This one has some salty lyrics added to it at the beginning but that is the reason I love it because that salty lyric add makes it a must listen to.

#8 Nickelback-Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting
Cover of Elton John

They took a song that was kinda rockin’ and turned it into a mega rocker.  Back in 2004 when I was covering Roncalli games, I spliced up my highlight audio of that year and put it to this song.  Yup, I was bored when I did that but it was still pretty cool to listen to.

#7 Disturbed-Shout 2000
Cover of Tears For Fears

The first entry for Disturbed.  Wow, they took an 80’s song and flipped it, kicked it ass and made it their own.

#6 Nonpoint-In The Air Tonight
Cover of Phil Collins

I first heard this song watching TV one night and the preview came on for Miami Vice.  The first thing I did was get up and research who did the cover.

#5 Spiderbait-Black Betty
Cover of Ram Jam

This link has an actual music video to go with it not just some random person putting something together.  Banjos + Kick Ass Gutar + Drums = Excellent Cover.  When I was doing the Saturday Night Request Show in Watertown, I popped this in and instantly had a ton of calls asking me, “who is this?”  “This is awesome!”

#4 Breaking Benjamin-Who Wants To Live Forever
Cover of Queen

I first heard this song before I heard the original.  I prefer this version but then again, I am a little bias. (Dear Agony drops next Tuesday!)

#3 Disturbed-Land Of Confusion
Cover of Genesis

The second entry for Disturbed. A number one track for for thes guys.  They have a knack for taking a song and making it there own.  I know a video was made for this song because it was with puppets but I just can’t find it anywhere.

#2 Shinedown-Simple Man
Cover of Lynyrd Skynyrd

Can a song give you goose bumps?  This cover can!  Plus with a lead singer named Brent, how can you go wrong?

#1 Godsmack-Good Times Bad Times
Cover of Led Zepplin

Godsmack took this song and kicked its ass.  Wow…amazing.  I never get tired of listening to it.  This actually has a video to click on.

So there you go.  My top 10 covers.  Now the questions begs, what are YOURS!  Comment me and let me know or drop me a line to brent@hubcityradio.com.

Now for a special number one…….the number one classic rock cover???

Motley Crue-Smokin’ In The Boys Room
Cover of Brownsville Station

September 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

